National Student Poets Program (NSPP) logo

The National Student Poets Program is the nation’s highest honor for youth poets presenting original work. This partnership between IMLS and the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers recognizes student poets’ achievements at the national level and highlights the importance of literacy.

Each year, a national panel of literary luminaries selects five National Student Poets from gold and silver national medalists in the poetry category of the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards. The young poets, nominated while in grades 10 and 11, are appointed at a special ceremony. During their year of service, the poets lead readings and workshops at libraries, museums, and schools, and participate in a range of regional literary and arts events.

Representing five geographical regions of the nation, the 2022 National Student Poets are:

Vidhatrie Keetha (Northeast; she/her) from Horace Mann School in Bronx, NY

Emily Igwike (Midwest; she/her) from University School of Milwaukee in Milwaukee, WI

Winslow Hastie, Jr. (Southeast; he/him) from Charleston County School of the Arts in North Charleston, SC

Jesse Begay (Southwest; they/them) from New Mexico School for the Arts in Santa Fe, NM

Diane Sun (West; she/her) from Interlake High School in Bellevue, WA

National Student Poet Program 2022 winners
From L to R: Jesse Begay (NM), Winslow Hastie, Jr. (SC), Emily Igwike (WI), Vidhatrie Keetha (NY), Diane Sun (WA).

Learn more about the Class of 2022 National Student Poets.

View the 2021 Appointment Ceremony on YouTube, read the Class of 2020 Chapbook (PDF), and follow the poets on the National Student Poets Program Facebook Page.