June 7, 2022

Erica Jaros
ejaros@imls.gov 202-653-4701
Brittany Vanderpool
bvanderpool@vancomm.com 202-248-5487

Six Institutions to Receive Nation's Highest Honor for Museum and Library Service
From St. Louis to Delaware, North Carolina to California, Top Federal Honor Recognizes Excellence in Service to Communities

WASHINGTON, DC—The Institute of Museum and Library Services today is pleased to announce the six recipients of the 2022 National Medal for Museum and Library Service, the nation’s highest honor given to libraries and museums that make significant and exceptional contributions to their communities. Over the past 26 years, the award has celebrated institutions that are making a difference for individuals, families, and communities.

National Medal Museum and Library Service medallion

The 2022 National Medal recipients are:


  • The Amistad Research Center (New Orleans, LA)
  • St. Louis County Library (St. Louis, MO)
  • Wilmington Institute Free Library (Wilmington, DE)


  • Asheville Art Museum (Asheville, NC)
  • Burke Museum of Natural History and Culture (Seattle, WA)
  • Oakland Museum of California (Oakland, CA)

Selected from 30 national finalists, the 2022 National Medal for Museum and Library Service winners represent institutions that provide dynamic programming and services that exceed expected levels of service. Through their community outreach, these institutions bring about change that touches the lives of individuals and helps communities thrive.

“IMLS is delighted to announce the recipients of the 2022 National Medals for Museum and Library Service,” said IMLS Director Crosby Kemper. “These great institutions are not only centers of excellence but also of passion for serving their communities in their unique individual ways. We look forward to celebrating them in Washington, DC with our first in-person ceremony in three years. They all exemplify the cultural and community engagement we have missed during the pandemic.”

The awards will be presented during an engaging event in Washington, DC in July.

The next deadline for nominating a museum or library for the 2023 National Medals will be announced in early fall. In the meantime, you can learn more about the National Medals on the IMLS website.

About the Institute of Museum and Library Services
The Institute of Museum and Library Services is the primary source of federal support for the nation's libraries and museums. We advance, support, and empower America's museums, libraries, and related organizations through grantmaking, research, and policy development. Our vision is a nation where museums and libraries work together to transform the lives of individuals and communities. To learn more, visit www.imls.gov and follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

National Medal for Museum and Library Service