You are here

Museums for America

Deadline: 
November 15, 2019

Application: The most recent Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) (PDF, 434 KB) is available for reference.
Grant Amount: $5,000–$250,000
Grant Period: Up to three years
Cost Share Requirement: You must provide funds from non-federal sources in an amount that is equal to or greater than the amount of your IMLS request.

All grant programs are subject to the availability of funds and IMLS discretion. The deadlines and other information are tentative until the FY 2021 NOFO is posted. The next anticipated deadline is November 16, 2020.

Program Overview:
The Museums for America program supports projects that strengthen the ability of an individual museum to serve its public. Museums for America has three project categories:

  • Lifelong Learning
  • Community Anchors and Catalysts
  • Collections Stewardship and Public Access

Program Contacts:
If you have questions, please contact any of the staff members listed under the category that best fits your project.

Lifelong Learning

Community Anchors and Catalysts

Collections Stewardship and Public Access

Helen Wechsler
Supervisory Grants Management Specialist
hwechsler@imls.gov
202-653-4779

Steve Shwartzman
Senior Museum Program Officer
sshwartzman@imls.gov
202-653-4641

Mark Feitl
Senior Museum Program Officer
mfeitl@imls.gov
202-653-4635

Reagan Moore
Museum Program Officer
rmoore@imls.gov
202-653-4637

Ashley Jones
Museum Program Specialist
ajones@imls.gov
202-653-4782

Laura Zamarripa
Museum Program Specialist
lzamarripa@imls.gov
202-653-4753

Webinars:
Learn more about museum grant programs by participating in IMLS webinars.

A general presentation on IMLS museum grants. We recommend that you view this presentation before participating in a program-specific webinar. The FY 2021 webinar would be posted in advance of the deadline. This FY 2020 webinar remains available for reference.

FY 2020 Museums for America Information Session. The FY 2021 webinar would be posted in advance of the deadline. This FY 2020 webinar remains available for reference.