The President’s Committee on the Arts and the Humanities (PCAH) was re-established in 2022 by Executive Order 14084 to advise the President on cultural policy in the United States. The First Lady has historically served as Honorary Chair of the Committee, which is composed of members appointed by the President. Private committee members include prominent artists, scholars, and philanthropists who have demonstrated a serious commitment to the arts and humanities. Public members represent the heads of key Federal agencies with a role in culture, including the Chairs of the National Endowments for the Arts and the Humanities, the Librarian of Congress, the Secretary of the Smithsonian, and the Director of the Institute of Museum and Library Services among others. The PCAH facilitates public-private partnerships, promotes interagency cooperation, and proposes programs that enhance arts, humanities, museums, and library services across the country. Over the past 40 years PCAH has catalyzed Federal programs and played a vital role in the advancement of arts and humanities education, cultural diplomacy, and the creative economy.


Bruce Cohen

Lady Gaga

Executive Director

Tsione Wolde-Michael


Amanda Phingbodhipakkiya

Arnold Rampersad

Shonda Rhimes

Kimberly Richter Shirley

Horacio Sierra

Anna Deavere Smith

Joe Walsh

Kerry Washington

Pauline Yu

Crosby Kemper, Director, Institute of Museum and Library Services

Maria Rosario Jackson, Chair, National Endowment for the Arts

Shelly C. Lowe, Chair, National Endowment for the Humanities


Ex Officio Members

Lonnie Bunch, Secretary, Smithsonian Institution

Kaywin Feldman, Director, National Gallery of Art

Carla Hayden, Librarian of Congress, Library of Congress

David M. Rubenstein, Chairman, Board of Trustees, John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts

Media Contact